State Home Schooling Laws


How to Comply with Kentucky’s Homeschool Law (from

In Kentucky, there is no homeschool statute. Homeschools operate under the private school statute by complying with the following steps.

Homeschooling under the private school statute

1. Notify the board of education.
You must annually send a private school notice of attendance to your local board of education within the first two weeks of the start of the school year. Traditionally, this has been interpreted to be within two weeks from the first day of school in the local school district. Typically the notice should be submitted no later than the second week of August. The notice should list the students in attendance at your school and include their names, ages, and addresses. (A notice of attendance form, which is attached below, is available to HSLDA members.)

2. Keep attendance and scholarship reports.
You must keep attendance reports and scholarship reports (i.e. report cards) in a similar manner as your local public schools do. Generally, this means the reports must be updated every six to nine weeks, depending on the schedule your district has chosen.

3. Teach for the required number of days.
A parent must ensure that at least 1,062 hours of instruction is provided to their child. This has to be done over at least 170 days. (While some parents prefer to keep a daily record of the hours of instruction they provide, if the amount of time you spend is fairly consistent you can continue to primarily count days, as long as the total adds up to 1,062 hours over at least 170 days.)

4. Teach the required subjects in English.
You are required to include reading, writing, spelling, grammar, history, mathematics, science, and civics in your homeschool curriculum, and to teach in the English language.

Please note: The information on this page has been reviewed by an attorney, but it should not be taken as legal advice specific to your individual situation.


How to Comply with Indiana’s Homeschool Law (from

Indiana homeschools are considered to be nonaccredited private schools, and thus homeschools must comply with Indiana’s private school statute.

To homeschool under the private school statute, you will need to follow the steps below.

1. Provide equivalent instruction in the English language.
Private schools must teach in the English language and provide instruction equivalent to that given in public schools. However, the State Board of Education is not given the authority to define “equivalent instruction” nor to approve homeschool programs. There are no mandatory subjects for a homeschool program, but HSLDA recommends that you follow the same general subjects that would be taught in public school.

2. Teach for the required number of days.
You must operate your homeschool program for the same number of days that the public schools in your district are in session. This is generally 180 days.

3. Keep attendance records.
You must keep attendance records to verify the enrollment and attendance of your students. Such records must be made available upon request of the state superintendent or the superintendent of the school district in which you reside.

4. Provide information to the state (not required).
Upon a specific and individual request by the state superintendent of public instruction, you must furnish the number of children, by grade level, that you are teaching at home.

Although Indiana public school officials frequently request that homeschoolers complete an online enrollment form on the Indiana Department of Education website, this enrollment is not required under state law and is voluntary. There are a few situations when completing this enrollment form might be beneficial.

Please note: The information on this page has been reviewed by an attorney, but it should not be taken as legal advice specific to your individual situation.